Chemotherapy Day 1

 

Mark that checked! I was supposed to start radiation today as well, but insurance didn’t pre-certify it until later this afternoon, so I’ll have my first date with radiation on Friday.

It went pretty well (as you know, chemotherapy can), minus the fact that my princess veins decided to be difficult. I had to be poked twice both for the blood draw and the IV. Like my stomach, my veins like to roll… My delicate veins also didn’t like the hour-long infusion pump strength, so I will now be receiving my Cisplatin in a two-hour dose instead of one. Dan and his mom joined me today. I also got some work done which was nice. Major perks of working from home — Not having to use PTO to go to these appointments, I was there for almost seven hours. I’m hoping I can save up all my PTO for a well-deserved vacation!

It’s a little weird being at a cancer center. Minus two people, I was the youngest person there by about 20 years. Everyone seemed nice, but kept to their visitors. I had read stories about making friends from chemo, but I’m not sure if that will happen.

Side effects right now include weird tingly feelings, exhaustion, and a metallic taste in my mouth. Though the exhaustion could be from waking up at 3am MT, watching Dan run the Missoula Marathon (which he kicked-butt at!), then hopping on a plane to Seattle for a three-hour appointment, worked Monday, then had my one-month follow-up with Dr. Goff.

As I mentioned my stomach roll above… I asked Dr. Goff if that was swelling… Maybe a combination of swelling/fat. And her reply?

“Well, it has been awhile since you’ve been able to workout.”

Harsh.

On a positive note, I can start working out again! I went to yoga yesterday and it was great. I was going to go for a run today, but we ended switching to T-Mobile and were stuck at the store for three hours. I’m excited to get back into working out. I have a goal of running a half-marathon in September… We’ll see how that goes!

Not so positive note, my exam was pretty painful and Dr. Goff is worried about infection, so I’m back on the Levofloxacin, Metronidazole, and a suuuuuuper fun lady cream. Goodbye bourbon for the next 10 days, plus trying to time when I can have dairy.

I’m glad I’m finally starting chemo and radiation. It feels like we’ve been waiting for this for forever, and when this is complete we can finally close this chapter of our lives and move on. Except for those times when we fly back to Seattle every three months for scans. Minor details.

Fingers crossed radiation on Friday goes well!

XOXO,

Gossett Girl

Leave a Reply

